Oceamo is partnering with Aquabiomics

For some time Dr. Eli Meyer (Marine biologist with several Publications and specialized in the microbiome of coral) is offering "Community-analyses" of reef tank micobiomes with his company Aquabiomics.

 

Oceamo is working together with Aquabiomics and makes this novel technique available for European hobbyists for the first time.

 

Together we can offer together a yet unprecedented spectrum of chemical and biological information about your reef tank (Oceamo chemical seawater analysis & Aquabiomics microbiome analysis).

1: How does the Aquabiomics analysis work?

 

Similar to the Oceamo seawater laboratory test a  sampling-kit must be obtained. Using the sampling kit microorganisms from the water column are collected on a special filter, and in addition a swipe sample is taken from the inside of your return line.  Both samples are preserved using a fixative.

The sampling procedure can be seen in this video:

Afterwards the sample is sent to Oceamo.  We forward your sample to the Aquabiomics laboratory in the US. Of course we are also here to support in case there are any questions.

 

Make sure your sample arrives timely before the next shipment to Aquabiomics USA.

Next scheduled shipment: 20.04.2021

 

2. What happens in the Aquabiomics laboratory?

 

The DNA (genetic information) is isolated from your samples. Afterwards the DNA is processed using a technique called Next generation Sequencing (NGS). Within the last years DNA sequencing has been greatly enhanced and accelerated which allows this powerful technique to be offered for a very reasonable price. 

NGS delivers a very large dataset, which is afterwards analyzed bioinformatically. As a result DNA in your sample can be matched strains of bacteria. So it is possible to find out which bacteria (and in which relative abundance) populate your reef tank. This is called the "bacterial community" or micobiome of your reef tank.

 

This allows a whole new perspective of your reef tank that will likely contribute to pinpoint and correct issues in your aquarium.

3. What is contained within the Aquabiomics analysis report?

 

You are getting an overview regarding the diversity of bacteria in your reef tank, and also a comparison to the average reef tank. A high diversity of bacteria is considered a very positive factor. Detected strains of bacteria are listed within the report.

 

In addition ammonia and nitrite-oxidizing bacteria as well as known coral- and fish pathogenic bacteria are analyzed and displayed in the report in dedicated categories.

 

Every report is accompanied by a personal interpretation from Dr. Eli Meyer, based data and information from your tank. This personal interpretation (which you might already know from Oceamo seawater analysis) is very helpful to utilize the results (even without any biological background) and puts "the numbers into a context".

A example report and interpretation can be found here:

4. Are "only" bacteria detected/analyzed?

 

Within the standard Aquabiomics analysis  prokaryotes (bacteria) are considered. The analysis for eukaryotes is currently in beta testing phase. - This eukaryote test is currently included in the aquabiomics analysis free of charge.

 

Thus the DNA of typical fish parasites such as Cryptocarypon irritans (marine whitespot disease), Amyloodinium ocellatum (marine velvet disease), Uronema marinum,... and from coral parasites such as acropora eating flatworm (AEFW) or montipora eating nudibranchs can be detected.

 

5. How long does the Aquabiomics analysis take?

 

The analysis takes longer compared to ICP analyses. This is due to transportation into the USA but also the process of DNA extraction, sequencing and data processing requires time. Turnaround can be up to 4-6 weeks, but will typically be shorter.

 

In case of any questions just contact us at office@oceamo.at

Oceamo arbeitet mit Aquabiomics USA zusammen

Seit einiger Zeit bietet Dr. Eli Meyer (Meeresbiologe mit beachtlicher Publikationsliste und spezialisiert auf Korallen-Mikrobiome) mit seinem Unternehmen Aquabiomics "Community-Analysen" des Mikrobioms in Meerwasseraquarien an.

 

Oceamo arbeitet mit Aquabiomics zusammen und macht diese innovative Analysyen-Methode erstmals für interessierte RiffaquarianerInnen in Europa zugänglich.

 

Damit können wir gemeinsam einen bisher nicht dagewesenen Umfang an chemischen und biologischen Informationen zu Eurem Becken liefern (Oceamo Meerwasser Laboranalyse & Aquabiomics Mikrobiomanalyse).

1: Wie funktioniert die Mikrobiom Analyse?

 

Ähnlich zur chemischen Meerwasseranalyse wird ein Probenahme-Set bestellt. Mit Hilfe des Probenahmesets werden a) Mikroorganismen aus dem Freiwasser auf einem speziellen Filter angereichert und fixiert sowie b) Mikroorganismen aus einem Abstrich aus Eurem Aquarium fixiert.

 

Ein Video zur Probenahme auf englisch ist hier verfügbar, ein Video in Deutsch werden wir Euch demnächst zur Verfügung stellen

Anschließend wird die Probe zu Oceamo gesendet. Wir kümmern uns um den Weitertransport in das Aquabiomics Labor und stehen Euch mit Support zur Seite. Stelle bitte sicher, dass deine Probe zeitgerecht bis zum nächsten Versandtermin bei uns einlangt.

Nächster Proben-Versandtermin: 22.01.2021

 

 

2. Was passiert im Aquabiomics Labor?

 

Die Gesamt-DNA (genetische Information) wird aus den Proben isoliert. Danach wird die DNA mittels der Analysentechnik Next generation Sequencing (NGS) analysiert. In den letzten Jahren wurden bei dieser Technik so bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt, dass diese inzwischen vergleichsweise günstig angeboten werden kann.

 

Durch NGS werden enorme Datenmengen erzeugt, welche dann bioinformatisch ausgewertet werden. So kann die DNA in den Proben unterschiedlichen Bakterienstämmen zugeordnet werden - es ist also möglich zu bestimmen welche Bakterien in Eurem Aquarium vorkommen, und in welcher relativen Häufigkeit. Diese Gesamtheit der Bakterien wird auch als "Bakterien-Community" oder "Mikrobiom" bezeichnet.

 

Dies ermöglicht einen ganz neuen Blickwinkel, und hilft mit Sicherheit zukünftig Probleme im Becken zu erkennen und auch zu beheben.

 

 

3. Was ist im Aquabiomics-Analysebericht enthalten?

 

Ihr erhaltet einen Überblick über die Diversität an Bakterienstämmen in Eurem Becken, sowie einen Vergleich zu durchschnittlichen Riffaquarien. Dabei ist ein möglichst diverses Mikrobiom erstrebenswert.

 

Zudem erhaltet Ihr eine Auflistung welche Bakterienstämme in welcher relativen Häufigkeit nachgewiesen werden konnten.

 

Zusätzlich werden Ammonium-Oxidierende und Nitrit-Oxidierende Bakterien, sowie bekannte Korallen- und Fischpathogene Bakterien gesondert angegeben.

 

Jeder Bericht wird durch eine persönliche Auswertung von Eli Meyer begleitet, ähnlich wie Ihr es auch von Oceamo Laboranalysen kennt. Dabei wird spezifisch auf euer Becken eingegangen.

 

Einen Beispielbericht aus dem Oceamo Schaubecken und die persönliche Interpretation hier:

4. Können "nur" Bakterien nachgewissen werden?

 

In der Standard-Aquabiomics Analyse werden Prokaryoten (Bakterien) analysiert. Es befindet sich jedoch eine Analysen auf Eukaryoten in der Beta-Testphase. - Diese Eukaryoten Analyse wird bei Eurer Probe kostenlos mit durchgeführt,

 

Damit kann die DNA typischer Krankheitserreger wie Cryptocarypon irritans, Amyloodinium ocellatum, Uronema marinum,... und auch von Korallenparasiten wie Acropora-fressenden Strudelwürmern (AEFW) oder Montipora-fressenden Nacktschnecken nachgewiesen werden.

 

5. Wie lange dauert eine Aquabiomics Analyse?

 

Die Analyse dauert länger als typische Meerwasser-Laboranalysen. Dies liegt an den Transportwegen in die USA, aber auch an einer sehr umfangreichen Auswertung. Deswegen kann es zu Wartezeiten von 4-6 Wochen kommen bis zum Ergebnis kommen.

 

Für alle weiteren Fragen wendet Euch am besten an office@oceamo.at